Dominican Republic

Santo Domingo, known officially as Santo Domingo de Guzmán, is the capital and largest city in the Dominican republic. Its metropolitan population was 2,084,852 in 2003, and estimated at 3,712,391 in 2010. The city is located on the Caribbean Sea at the mouth of the Ozama River. Founded by Bartholomew Columbus in 1496, it is the oldest continuously inhabited European settlement in the Americas, and was the first seat of Spanish colonial rule in the New World.

Santo Domingo was called "Ciudad Trujillo", from 1930 to 1961, after the Dominican Republic's dictator, Rafael Trujillo, named the capital after himself. Following his assassination, the city resumed its original designation. This card had one of the most unique trips to arrive to my mailbox. It was missent to Jamaica (note the postmark!). It took about 6 months to reach me. :) Thanks Trupti!

No comments:

Post a Comment