Mauritius is an island nation in the southwest Indian Ocean. Mauritius Island is part of the Mascarene Islands, with the French island of Reunion 200 km to the southwest and the island of Rodrigues 570 km to the northeast. Mauritius's area is 2040 km2; its capital city is Port Louis. The British took control of the islands during the Napoleonic Wars, and Mauritius became independent from the UK in 1968. The main languages spoken in Mauritius are Mauritian Creole, French and English. The country is composed of several ethnicities, including Indian, African, Chinese and French. The first European explorers found no indigenous people living on the island. The island of Mauritius is renowned for having been the only known home of the dodo. This bird was an easy prey to settlers due to its weight and inability to fly, and became extinct fewer than eighty years after the initial European colonization.
Hemal thanks so much for beautiful postcard and stamps! :)

No comments:

Post a Comment