Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in west Africa. Its size is 274,200 square kilometres with an estimated population of more than 15,757,000. Formerly called the Republis of Upper Volta, it was renamed by President Thomas Sankara to mean "the land of upright people" in Moore and Dioula, the major native languages of the country. Figuratively, "Burkina" may be translated, "men of integrity," from the Mòoré language, and "Faso" means "father's house" in Dioula. The inhabitants of Burkina Faso are known as Burkinabè. Burkina Faso was populated between 14,000 and 5000 BC by hunter gatherers in the country's northwestern region. Farm settlements appeared between 3600 and 2600 BC. What is now central Burkina Faso was principally composed of Mossi kingdoms. These Mossi Kingdoms would become a French protectorate in 1896. Burkina Faso's capital is Ouagadougou.
Many thanks Ruth for my 1st postcard sent directly from Burkina Faso! :)

No comments:

Post a Comment