The Bahamas is a nation consisting of 29 islands, 661 cays, and 2,387 islets (rocks). Its total land area is 13,939 km2, with an estimated population of 330,000. Its capital is Nassau.

The Bahamas were the site of Columbus' first landfall in the New World in 1492. Although the Spanish never colonized The Bahamas, they shipped the native Lucayans to slavery in Hispaniola. The islands were mostly deserted from 1513 to 1648 , when English colonists from Bermuda settled on the island of Eleuthera.

In terms of GDP per capita, the Bahamas is the third richest country in the Americas (following the United States and Canada), the richest south of the Mexico–US border, and the richest in the world whose population is predominantly of African origin.

Thank you so much Jennifer for wonderful postcard! :)

1 comment: